Join now - be part of our community!

Sony SLTA58K Shooting Tips for a Newbie

Sony SLTA58K Shooting Tips for a Newbie

Hi all, 

I'm Stacey, i'm 25 and have been taking photos on my Sony Z1 for ages now. I've just been given the A58 as a gift today it's come with the standard lens and I was just wondering if anyone had any tips as this is my first camea of this sort and i'm totally new to shooting with anything like this. I've got the basic point and shoot but curious about the manual modes.

Thanks

S

1 REPLY 1
profile.country.en_GB.title
Watashiwateshdes
Contributor

Stepping outside of the comfort zone is actually quite a daunting task especially when the camera does not really tell you what settings you are always going to change.

The first thing I would honestly recommend is a book because good reading always goes in hand with a new skill. The book is called Understanding Exposure by Brian peterson and gives you a real good insight into imaging and taking the "right" photo.

When stepping into the more creative modes, the three laws apply. You have your aperture, shutter speed and your ISO/sensitivity. When all three are combined, you get an exposure in the form of your photo. Changing one of those settings will in turn affect the final exposure. Apologies if this is basic but best to cover it incase anyone else is wondering. 

Aperture